The Invincible Maharana OF Forts-The Kumbhalgarh Fort Udaipur

Posted on

My vacation to Udaipur the quaint city of lakes and palaces had been extremely fulfilling. On this last day of my stay here I wanted to reward myself, by going to the best of places. And I had already decided the evening before that I will be rounding up my sojourn by visiting the invincible, UNESCO world heritage site, The Kumbhalgarh fort.

view-of-kumbhalgarh-fort
View of Kumbhalgarh Fort | Image Resource : flickr.com

This day a cab was pre-booked by me.I had made enquiries and found out that the only way to go to this fort is by road. Either a bus, or a cab can be taken, that too from Udaipur itself. As I was finishing my breakfast I was informed that my cab is here.

Chatting with the cab driver, who seemed pretty well-versed with the history of this fort, I soon reached the fort covering the 64 km in animated discussion with him. There it stood, on the westerly ranges of the Aravalli mountains, as a sentinel of the bygone history. This 15th century fortress was built by Rana Kumbha.

kumbhalgarh-fort-udaipur
Kumbhalgarh Fort Udaipur | Image Resource : en.wikipedia.org

The first thing I noticed about the fort is its topography and hence its inaccessibility. No wonder it remained unconquered. And for this reason it served as a refuge to rulers of Mewar during times of strife. Walking around I marvelled at how self-contained this fortress seemed.

I climbed up and breathed the fresh air blowing. Surrounded by the Aravalli mountain ranges and the wildlife sanctuary the view offered was fantastic. I most striking feature of the fort is the wall surrounding it. It is actually 36 km long and is wide enough to take 8 horses abreast. And the best piece of information I gathered, it happens to be the second longest wall in the world after the Great Wall of China!

aerial-view-of-kumbhalgarh-fort
Aerial View of Kumbhalgarh Fort | Image Resource : en.wikipedia.org

Walking around the compound of the fort I saw some really interesting ruins Kumbhalgarh also happens to be the birth place of Maharana Pratap the great brave hero King!

How lucky I considered myself that this massive fort is open to public. As I turned to go by evening, I stopped in my tracks, the lights came on, lighting up the fort, dressing it in golden hues. My last day in Udaipur was truly memorable!

Leave a Reply

