Sanjay Gandhi National Park Mumbai – A Breath Of Fresh Air In A Cluttered city

Posted on Updated on

I had completed most of the places and things on my to-do list in Mumbai. But upon having an interesting conversation with a fellow traveler whom I met on the Launch (boat) to elephant caves I decided to visit the park. He suggested I that should definitely visit the Sanjay Gandhi National Park while in Mumbai. He also guided me the hassle free way to travel to it which is by train.

Sanjay Gandhi National Park Mumbai
Sanjay Gandhi National Park Mumbai | Image Resource : royalindiandevotes.com

So I thought why not, and set out to visit the popular national park. To avoid the rush hour I was advised to start a little late. So I started by 9:30 and reached the park by 11am. The Sanjay Gandhi national park or the Borivali national park comes as a surprise as it is a forest in the middle of the city.

Monkeys at Sanjay Gandhi National Park Mumbai
Monkeys at Sanjay Gandhi National Park Mumbai | Image Resource : brightmumbai.com

The park also offers many other tourist attractions such as the boat ride, toy train, and the Kaneri caves. Though I really wanted to take a boat ride I dint finally go for it. They charge Rs 33/- per person for small two seater boat and Rs. 66/- per person for four seater boat. I decided to avoid it since they didn’t offer a boat rider also.

Sanjay Gandhi National Park Mumbai – Even an entire day wasn’t enough to explore its beauty !

Sanjay Gandhi National Park Mumbai has a rich natural habitat and a wide range of birds and reptiles which can be easily sighted. The park offers a safari ride to visit the interiors of the park and see the wild animals. The safari is a bus ride which take the visitors through the interior of the park,

Lions at Sanjay Gandhi National Park Mumbai
Lions at Sanjay Gandhi National Park Mumbai | Image Resource : mouthshut.com

The entry fee of the safari is Rs.55/- for adults and Rs. Rs.22 for children. The queue for the safari was long one with almost 30 people before me. But it was definitely worth the wait because I could spot 2 tigers and a lion. The sleeping lion made for an ironical sight.  Along with the lions and tigers, there were also deer’s and moneys.

Another attraction of the park is Kanheri caves, which I could visit because the timings to visit the caves were over by the time I got around to it. The Sanjay Gandhi National Park is huge place, and even one full day at it wasn’t enough to explore the entire place.

Leave a Reply

