Shree Siddhivinayak Temple Mumbai – Starting With The Blessing Of Lord Ganesh!

Posted on Updated on

While travelling it is usually my routine to visit the popular temple of that area. Visiting the popular and majestic temple was on my to-do list in Mumbai. After doing my research of nearby places I discovered that the Shree Siddhivinayak Temple is not so far, so I decided upon visiting the temple for an evening Darshan.

Shree Siddhivinayak Temple Mumbai
Shree Siddhivinayak Temple Mumbai | Image Resource : Flickr.com

Upon enquiring at the Front desk, I was informed about the various bus routes to the reach the Siddhivinayak temple, and that the bus depot was quite close by. They also advised me against the rush and traffic during peak hours. Since I wanted to explore the ‘Mumbai-life’ I decided to brave it and take a bus.

Luckily, since Colaba is the starting point for many buses routes in Mumbai, I didn’t have to wait for a bus to arrive and was also able to get a window seat to enjoy the hustle-bustle of the city passing by.

After a one hour fifteen minute bus ride, I reach the Siddhivinayak Temple. The temple structure is quite impressive and can been seen from a distance as well. The way to the temple is lined with vendors offering a variety of things. There were several tea stalls, flower and essence vendors.

Since I reached there in the mid-afternoon (3:30) there were very few people. The temple from inside is very well maintained and had a serene and calm ambience. Since it wasn’t crowded I finished my visit within half an hour. The temple is famous of its idol of Lord Ganesh which was carved from a single stone. The main idol is surrounded by Goddess Riddhi and Goddess Sidhi.

Goddess Riddhi, Goddess Siddhi and Lord Ganesha
Goddess Riddhi, Goddess Siddhi and Lord Ganesha | Image Resource : legacyofwisdom.blogspot.com

Entry fee of Rs. 50 is charged for those who do not wish to stand in queue, while entry is free for those who wish to stay in line and wait for their turn. Those people who do not wish to wait can pay the entry fee and gain instant entry. Since there wasn’t much crowd I decided I’d rather wait than pay an entry fee. After I completed my Darshan I decided to take a tea break at a small but crowed tea vendor just outside the temple.

Leave a Reply

